The minutes presented within this document provide a summary of the discussion that took place at the Board of Education meeting. For the complete discussion of the agenda items on the video recording of the Board meeting, please contact the Superintendent of Schools. These minutes are considered a draft until approved at the following regular Board of Education meeting.

#### SOUTHINGTON BOARD OF EDUCATION

### **SOUTHINGTON, CONNECTICUT**

#### **SPECIAL MEETING**

#### **DECEMBER 17, 2020**

The special meeting of the Southington Board of Education was held as a Zoom video and teleconference on Thursday, December 17, 2020, at 7:00 p.m.

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER

Mrs. Terri Carmody, Chairperson, called the Special meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were Mr. Joseph Baczewski, Mr. Robert Brown, Mrs. Terri Carmody, Mrs. Colleen Clark (7:09 p.m.), and Mr. Zaya Oshana.

Cabinet administrators present were Mr. Timothy Connellan, Superintendent of Schools; Mr. Steven Madancy, Assistant Superintendent; and Mrs. Sherri DiNello, Director of Business & Finance.

#### 2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Ms. Kara Sievel, 2020 Southington District Teacher of the Year, led in reciting of the Pledge of Allegiance.

# 3. CELEBRATION OF EXCELLENCE – Southington Public Schools Teacher, Paraeducator of the Year and 30-Year Employees

For the Celebration of Excellence, the Board members recognized the following employees:

Name	School	Recognition	Award
Kara Sievel	Kennedy Middle	2020 Southington's	Wood Plaque &
	School	District Teacher of the	Crystal Apple
		Year & 2020	
		Southington's Middle	
		School Teacher of the	
		Year	
Stacy Ferrett	<b>Southington High</b>	2020 Southington's High	Crystal Apple
	School	School Teacher of the	
		Year	

Kathleen Wagner	Hatton Elementary School	2020 Southington's Elementary School Teacher of the Year	Crystal Apple
Suzanne Topper	Derynoski Elementary School	2021 Anne Marie Murphy Paraeducator of the Year	Board of Education Plaque & Crystal Apple
Jill Chapman	Kelley/South End/Thalberg Elementary Schools	30 Years of Service	Crystal Apple
Timothy Johnson	Kennedy Middle School	30 Years of Service	Crystal Apple
Judith Sokoloff	Hatton Elementary School	30 Years of Service	Crystal Apple
Deborah Albaitis	Executive Assistant to the Superintendent	Retiring December 31, 2020 after 25 Years of Service	Clock with plaque, Certificate of Excellence, and Town of Southington Pin

## 4. ADJOURNMENT

The special meeting adjourned at 7:47 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, *Linda Blanchard*Recording Secretary