Skip To Main Content

Teacher of the Year

Meg Evans with administrators and teachers

Megan Evans

Literacy Specialist
Strong Elementary School

The Southington Public School District is proud to announce that Megan Evans, a Literacy Specialist at Strong Elementary School, has been chosen as the 2023-2024 Teacher of the Year. Megan will be recognized at the 2023-2024 Staff Convocation in August. Also, she will be recognized at a reception prior to a Board of Education meeting in September at the Municipal Center. Mrs. Evans has been teaching in Southington since August 24, 2015 when she was hired as a Literacy Specialist at Hatton Elementary School. Prior to starting in Southington, Mrs. Evans taught for 10 years in another district. Mrs. Evans received her Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education from Messiah University in 1997. She then went on to earn her Masters Degree in Reading Education from Boston University in 2001. Mrs. Evans also received her certification in Orton Gillingham literacy instruction in 2011. Meg readily volunteers for committees and activities at Strong Elementary School such as participating in Strong School's Improvement Plan, the SRBI Committee, the Data-Based Individualization study conducted by UConn and the CSDE as well as organizing the annual Read Across America Celebration. Mrs. Evans describes a major issue in education today as the need to retain teachers. She shared that, as a Literacy Specialist, she has the unique opportunity to support teachers and students by providing supplemental material to assist with the Language Arts Curriculum. In addition, Southington Public Schools is pleased to announce that Meghan Scam was selected as the High School Teacher of the Year. Meghan has been teaching at Southington High School for the past two years.


Teacher of the Year Recipients

  • 2023-2024 Megan Evans, Strong Elementary School
  • 2022-2023 Bethany Rosin, DePaolo Middle School
  • 2021-2022 Sandra Chavez, Oshana Elementary School
  • 2020-2021 Kara Sievel, Kennedy Middle School
  • 2019-2020 Heather Allenback, Southington High School
  • 2018-2019 Kari Peschel-Luise, Southington High School
  • 2017-2018 Candace Patten, Southington High School
  • 2016-2017 Christina McKirryher, Plantsville Elementary School
  • 2015-2016 Christopher Richter, Kennedy Middle School
  • 2014-2015 Jennifer Paul, Southington High School
  • 2013-2014 Linda Bass Reilly, Thalberg Elementary
  • 2012-2013 Justin Mirante, Southington High
  • 2011-2012 Jessica Bruenn, Strong Elementary
  • 2010-2011 Jill Chapman, Kelley Elementary
  • 2009-2010 Sara Levinthal, Southington High
  • 2008-2009 Maureen Waldron, Southington High
  • 2007-2008 Joyce Fredrick, Hatton Elementary
  • 2006-2007 Maureen Roth, Strong Elementary
  • 2005-2006 Karen Paradis, Elementary Gifted and Talented Teacher
  • 2004-2005 Marion Stannard, VOAG Center
  • 2003-2004 Meredith Menton, Thalberg Elementary
  • 2002-2003 Cathy Weston, Southington High
  • 2001-2002 Nancy Chiero, Southington High
  • 2000-2001 Gregory Brezicki, Strong Elementary
  • 1999-2000 Sandra Van Valkenburgh, DePaolo Middle
  • 1998-1999 Madeline Previti, Southington High
  • 1997-1998 Jeffrey R. Shaw, Southington High
  • 1996-1997 Jessica Jankowski, DePaolo Middle
  • 1995-1996 Robert Bafuma, Kennedy Middle
  • 1994-1995 Dorothy Drechsler, Kelley Elementary
  • 1993-1994 Harriet Clark, North Center Elementary
  • 1992-1993 Janet Pehmoeller, Kelley Elementary
  • 1991-1992 Donna Shea, North Center Elementary
  • 1990-1991 Duane Adams, DePaolo Middle
  • 1989-1990 Rosanne Casale-Daigneault, Kennedy Middle
  • 1988-1989 Aurora Pedrolini, Southington High
  • 1987-1988 Bette Ann Bailey, Kennedy Middle
  • 1986-1987 Gregory Brezicki, Strong Elementary
  • 1985-1986 Dale Riedinger, Kennedy Middle
  • 1984-1985 Judith Grimaldi, North Center Elementary
  • 1983-1984 Alan DeBisschop, Southington High