Skip To Main Content

Paraeducator Of The Year

Dawn Dickau

Dawn Dickau

Hatton Elementary School


Dawn has been working in the District since 2015.

  • She acquired a specialized skill to work 1:1 with a visually impaired student
  • Has taken multiple training and professional development classes to be certified in Braille
  • Prepares and translates all learning material and assignments to Braille
  • Attends Silver Star Band practice and concerts after hours
  • Has translated countless pieces of music into Braille for the student, who plays trumpet; and, incorporated numbers, rhythms, notes, and dynamics in the translation
  • Dawn has gone above and beyond to prepare the student for middle school by meeting and collaborating with staff to ensure the environment and mindsets are equipped to receive such a unique student

Connecticut's Paraeducator of the Year

Governor Ned Lamont, Lt. Governor Susan Bysiewicz, and Education Commissioner Charlene Russell-Tucker made a surprise visit to DePaolo Middle School to announce that Dawn Dickau has been named Connecticut’s 2024 Anne Marie Murphy Paraeducator of the Year. Governor's Press Release

Paraeducator of the Year Recipients

  • 2023-2024 Dawn Dickau
  • 2022-2023 Donna Bowes
  • 2021-2022 Lydia Holbrook
  • 2020-2021 Suzanne Topper
  • 2019-2020 Caroline Turek
  • 2018-2019 Anne Lippincott
  • 2017-2018 Edit Costanzo
  • 2016-2017 Deb Stevens
  • 2015-2016 Andrea Cerboni
  • 2014-2015 Deb Bender
  • 2013-2014 Cathy Riccio
  • 2012-2013 Barbara Perretta