Southington Quicklinksstaff login
Home >
District Departments > Special Education
seal

Pupil Services

 Dr. Perri Murdica, Director of Pupil Services         Lisa Bennett, Secretary to Dr. Perri Murdica
 pmurdica@southingtonschools.org    lbennett@southingtonschools.org
 (860) 628-3200 Ext. 210   (860) 628-3200 Ext. 210
  
 Carol Bagwell, Special Education Coordinator Cathy Sheldrick, Secretary to Carol Bagwell
 cbagwell@southingtonschools.org csheldrick@southingtonschools.org
 (860) 628-3200 Ext. 325 (860) 628-3200 Ext. 325
  
 Sandra Kujawski, Special Education Coordinator  Molly Cardozo, Secretary to Sandra Kujawski
 skujawski@southingtonschools.org mcardozo@southingtonschools.org    
 (860) 628-3200 Ext. 332 (860) 628-3200 Ext. 332
  
 Beth Ozkan, Special Education Coordinator   Janet Larkin, Secretary to Beth Ozkan
 bozkan@southingtonschools.org  jlarkin@southingtonschools.org
(860) 628-3200 Ext. 208 (860) 628-3200 Ext. 208

                             

The Southington School District offers a continuum of Special Education services to meet the individual needs of students, ages 3 - 21, identified as needing special education.  In accordance with the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), students receive their instruction in the Least Restrictive Environment (LRE), which is determined by a Planning and Placement Team (PPT) Individualized Education Program (IEP) meeting. 

Services May Include:

  • Special Education Instruction
  • Speech and Language services
  • Counseling Services
  • Occupational and Physical Therapy

Links:

Some of these documents are viewable with Adobe Acrobat Reader. If your computer does not have Acrobat Reader installed, you may download it for free from Adobe. 


The Top 10 Characteristics of Responsible Inclusive Practices
 
1.Each student is educated in his or her neighborhood school.6.Students are considered members of their general education homerooms.

2.

There is a natural proportion of students with disabilities at each school.

7.

An array of instructional strategies for diverse learners are used effectively in each classroom.

3.

The faculty believes inclusion is a valued practice for all students.

8.

Special education support is provided for students with disabilitites in the general education classroom when it is needed.

4.

The general education class and curriculum is the reference point for all instructional planning.

9.

Special education and support services personnel are on grade level or subject area teams with their fellow general educators.
5.Students are in age appropriate general education classrooms.

10.

All educators regularly plan together to meet the needs of students they serve.
 
Adapted with permission from Stetson and Associates, Inc.
Southington Public Schools  200 North Main St  Southington, CT  06489  Phone: 860-628-3200  Contact Us
powered by finalsite