Southington Quicklinksstaff login
Home >
District Information > Teacher of the Year

Teacher of the Year 2016-2017

Christina McKirryher

First Grade

Plantsville Elementary School

The Southington Public Schools are proud to announce that Christina McKirryher, first grade teacher at Plantsville Elementary School, has been chosen as the 2016-2017 Teacher of the Year. Christina will be recognized at the 2016-2017 Staff Convocation on August 29, 2016. Also, she will be recognized at a reception prior to the Board of Education meeting on September 22, 2016 at the Municipal Center.

Mrs. McKirryher resides in Naugatuck and has been teaching in Southington for the past six years. She was originally hired in November 2009 as a literacy tutor at Strong Elementary School and then was appointed as a Kindergarten teacher at Plantsville Elementary School in August, 2010. After one year teaching kindergarten, Christina was assigned to teach first grade. Mrs. McKirryher believes that every child deserves to learn in an environment that focuses on student achievement and meeting the needs of every child.

Mrs. McKirryher earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration in 2007 from the University of Connecticut and then earned her Master’s Degree in Elementary Education with a cross endorsement of Business Education from the University of Bridgeport in 2008. She is currently pursuing a Sixth Year Degree and Certification in Educational Leadership from Central Connecticut State University. Christina is an advocate and an inspiration for teaching and learning. Aside from her regular instruction, Mrs. McKirryher serves on the SRBI Committee, School Safety and Security Committee, and the Responsive Classroom Committee.

In addition, Mrs. McKirryher served as the STEPS building representative for Plantsville Elementary School. In this role, she organized a “Taste of Plantsville” night allowing families to showcase their cultures. Mrs. McKirryher created the S.T.A.R.S. Program at Plantsville in order to recognize students for character traits. In addition, she has organized field trips, literacy nights for students in kindergarten through second grade, and a “Read Across America” day.

Christina has been married to her husband, Jeff, for the past seven years and is the proud mother of three children, Jack, Declan, and Griffin.


  • 2016-2017   Christina McKirryher, Plantsville Elementary School
  • 2015-2016   Christopher Richter, Kennedy Middle School 
  • 2014-2015   Jennifer Paul, Southington High School
  • 2013-2014   Linda Bass Reilly, Thalberg Elementary
  • 2012-2013   Justin Mirante, Southington High
  • 2011-2012   Jessica Bruenn, Strong Elementary
  • 2010-2011   Jill Chapman, Kelley Elementary
  • 2009-2010   Sara Levinthal, Southington High
  • 2008-2009   Maureen Waldron, Southington High
  • 2007-2008   Joyce Fredrick, Hatton Elementary 
  • 2006-2007   Maureen Roth, Strong Elementary 
  • 2005-2006   Karen Paradis, Elementary Gifted and Talented Teacher 
  • 2004-2005   Marion Stannard, VOAG Center
  • 2003-2004   Meredith Menton, Thalberg Elementary
  • 2002-2003   Cathy Weston, Southington High
  • 2001-2002   Nancy Chiero, Southington High
  • 2000-2001   Gregory Brezicki, Strong Elementary
  • 1999-2000   Sandra Van Valkenburgh, DePaolo Middle
  • 1998-1999   Madeline Previti, Southington High
  • 1997-1998   Jeffrey R. Shaw, Southington High
  • 1996-1997   Jessica Jankowski, DePaolo Middle
  • 1995-1996   Robert Bafuma, Kennedy Middle
  • 1994-1995   Dorothy Drechsler, Kelley Elementary
  • 1993-1994   Harriet Clark, North Center Elementary
  • 1992-1993   Janet Pehmoeller, Kelley Elementary
  • 1991-1992   Donna Shea, North Center Elementary
  • 1990-1991   Duane Adams, DePaolo Middle
  • 1989-1990   Rosanne Casale-Daigneault, Kennedy Middle
  • 1988-1989   Aurora Pedrolini, Southington High
  • 1987-1988   Bette Ann Bailey, Kennedy Middle
  • 1986-1987   Gregory Brezicki, Strong Elementary
  • 1985-1986   Dale Riedinger, Kennedy Middle
  • 1984-1985   Judith Grimaldi, North Center Elementary
  • 1983-1984   Alan DeBisschop, Southington High
powered by finalsite